SGA vote uncontested

<a href=”main.cfm?include=customPage&name=sgaresults”>Click here for complete election results.</a>

Only two out of 30 positions in the Student Government Association’s (SGA) spring election were contested, and half of the positions did not have a candidate as of filing deadline.

A total of 648 students voted in the spring election, down more than 200 votes from last spring’s election and up two votes in comparison to the 2003 fall election.

Laura Rashedi won the presidential election uncontested. Victoria Neave, Rashedi’s running mate, won the vice-presidential election with 457 votes over Farah Mourad with 154 votes.

“Ryan (Davidson) and I both worked under the table and above the table trying to recruit more people to run,” said current SGA vice-president Sophie Rutenbar. “While there are a lot of capable people in the senate who are interested in the race, none of them felt they had the time or the energy to commit to the presidential or vice-presidential positions.”

Only the vice-president and senior School of Management senator positions were competitive as of filing deadline.

Patty Atchley, SGA advisor, said she was pleased with the voter turnout, considering the election was only held in the Student Union and the presidential election was uncontested.

Ballots were cast April 12-14.

Chris Allnatt, SGA senator and senior social sciences major said that in comparison to last year’s election, this election “was a lot friendlier. It happened without a significant bump. “

President-elect Rashedi attributed the lack of competition to cooperation.

“I feel like Victoria and I had the support and the encouragement of a large majority of the SGA senators and that we both represent two very different groups on campus. Where as in some elections we might have run against each other, in this case we chose to work together,” Rashedi said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *